PREMIERE! OPERA DON PASQUALE
  • Оpera
  • duration

    2:30
  • intermission

    1
  • languagage

    Ru
  • age

    16+
Dates
About

ACT I

Scene 1.

The main character is Don Pasquale, an elderly rich bachelor who decides to marry. Don Pasquale is pacing around the room; he has decided to disinherit his nephew Ernesto. Dr Malatesta, an old friend of Don Pasquale, arrives.Malatesta has found just what Don Pasquale wants, a young girl willing to become his wife. It’s Sofronia, Malatesta’s sister. He describes her in the aria «Bella siccome un angelo» ("Beautiful like an angel").Don Pasquale is happy and delighted. He demands that his future wife be brought to him immediately. In his monologue, Don Pasquale already pictures himself as a father of six children.

A young Ernesto arrives. Ernesto refuses to marry a girl chosen for him by Don Pasquale as he is passionately in love with and devoted to Norina. Being annoyed, Don Pasquale threatens to ban Ernesto from home and tells his nephew that he himself plans to marry. Now Ernesto will be disinherited and not be able to marry Norina. Before leaving, downhearted Ernesto gives a piece of advice to his uncle: do not rush to get married without consulting Dr Malatesta. Don Pasquale admits that he has already done this and that he intends to marry the doctor's sister. Ernesto realises that Malatesta, whom he always trusted, has betrayed him.

Scene 2.

 Norina's room. She reads a romance novel and praises herself for being well versed in the ways of love, just like the book’s heroine. She is delivered a letter from Ernesto. Malatesta runs into the room to tell her that his plan is bound to be a success. But Norina hands over to him Ernesto’s letter. Malatesta reads it aloud and finds out that the young man’s heart is broken. In his letter, Ernesto calls Malatesta a scoundrel, says that he will be robbed of his inheritance as a result of his uncle's marriage, and declares his intention to leave Rome and Europe as soon as possible.

Malatesta makes excuses. He promises that Ernesto will be very happy to stay when he learns about Malatesta’s new plan. The plan is to introduce Norina to Don Pasquale as Malatesta’s sister Sofronia, who actually lives in a nunnery and whom Don Pasquale has not ever met as well. Don Pasquale will be happy to marry her, and the cousin of Malatesta will conduct a fictitious marriage ceremony as a notary. Then Norina will make it so unbearable for Don Pasquale to live together that he will be desperate to run away from home.

Malatesta and Norina sing a duet in which the doctor instructs Norina how she should behave in her new role. First she should learn to play a modest rural girl, and then suddenly turn into a true harpy. The scene ends with the doctor and Norina having an infinite fun in anticipation of revenge on Don Pasquale.

ACT II

Scene 1.

 Don Pasquale’s house. Sad Ernesto sings a dramatic aria «Cerchero lontana terra» ("I shall seek a distant land").Believing him to be robbed of his inheritance and have lost his Norina forever, he decides to leave and end his days in grief and sorrow. Ernesto leaves.

Don Pasquale arrives. After sending away his servants, he is pacing around and admiring his ‘magnificent stature’: ‘If you are over seventy, never say you are tired ... step proudly and briskly…,’ he mumbles to himself, ‘then nobody will say that you are so old.’

Malatesta appears to introduce Norina as Sofronia to Don Pasquale; her face is veiled. Together they are singing a terzetto: she pretends to be frightened and almost fainting. Malatesta comforts her and urges her to summon up her courage, and Don Pasquale declares his delight, although he worries whether ‘the face under the veil is as charming as everything else.’ Norina skilfully plays the part of a shy girl that has just left the nunnery. Finally, she agrees to raise her veil. Don Pasquale is smitten. He proposes to her, and she accepts; Malatesta invites the notary. A witness is needed for signing the contract. They come across Ernesto. He almost thwarts the entire scheme. However, Malatesta is just in time to pull him aside and to reveal that the contract is a fake. Ernesto agrees to participate in this farce. The document is signed, and the notary goes away.

Unexpectedly for Don Pasquale, although in full compliance with Malatesta’s idea, Norina turns into a true harpy. She pushes Don Pasquale away when he tries to hug her, and tells him that he is too old. Then she orders that the servants’ wages be doubled and instructs the steward to hire twenty four  more servants right away. She orders that a new carriage and new furniture be purchased. Meanwhile, Don Pasquale is moaning and groaning; he mumbles that all this will be his undoing. Delighted Ernesto and Malatesta congratulate each other; Don Pasquale curses his fate. The quartet turns into an epic culmination of the whole act.

INTERMISSION

ACT III

Scene 1.

Don Pasquale is in despair. Norina, his fake new wife, has ordered gorgeous garments of all kind, and he has to pay the bills.

Norina enters and, without looking at Don Pasquale, says that she is going to visit the opera. Don Pasquale tries to prevent her from going, but receives a sharp rebuff. ‘Old men need to go to bed early,’ Norina says vindictively. She pushes him away and, after throwing the last insult at him, leaves, looking cheerfully and as though accidentally dropping a letter. Don Pasquale picks it up and reads it. This is a love message for the ‘dearest Sofronia’ indicating the time and place in the garden for a date. Outraged, Don Pasquale writes a note to Malatesta, informing him that he feels ill, and leaves the room.

New servants arrive. They are very excited and happy about being hired to this house, where they are so well paid. However, they must maintain decorum to continue working at this wonderful house. The servants leave.

Don Pasquale enters, bitterly complaining about his fate. He wants Ernesto to marry Norina. His ‘wife’ will squander all his fortune. And now she is going to have a date with her lover. In the duet, Malatesta presents his plan to Don Pasquale. ‘We'll catch them unawares in the garden,’ he says. "We’ll hide in the summerhouse to eavesdrop on your wife, and if she really sins, we’ll banish her.’ Don Pasquale considers this plan as too lenient. However, he agrees to kick his wife out if she is guilty, while Malatesta ironically promises that he will do his best to make this happen.

Scene 2.

A night at the garden of the Don Pasquale’s house. Ernesto sings a serenade to Norina, telling her about his passion – it’s a one of the most beautiful arias in the opera «Com’e gentil» ("How lovely"). Norina arrives. They sing a lyric duet together.

Don Pasquale and Malatesta arrive. Norina pretends to be scared. Don Pasquale and Malatesta start looking for her lover. Having failed to find anyone, Don Pasquale demands that Norina get out of his house, but she reminds him that this is her home. Malatesta announces that another lady is to enter the house tomorrow. This will be Ernesto's wife, Norina the ‘widow’. Sofronia, the fictitious wife of Don Pasquale (who is the same Norina), pretends to be outraged.

They invite Ernesto and say that his uncle permits him to marry Norina. Don Pasquale wishes to meet his nephew's bride. Malatesta brings Norina to him.

Malatesta explains everything to Don Pasquale. Don Pasquale is angry with them all, but allows himself to be persuaded by Norina and Ernesto and blesses their marriage.

Malatesta speaks up «Bravo, bravo, Don Pasquale», which is the beginning of the last quartet («La moral di tutto questo» — "The moral of all this"), in which everyone talks about how stupid it is of an old man to woo a young girl, as nothing good can come of this.

 

 

St. Petersburg Music Hall Theatre
presents 

Gaetano DONIZETTI

DON PASQUALE

Opera in 3 acts

Artistic Director of the Music Hall Theatre Fabio Mastrangelo, an Italian by origin, has initiated a new production. For the first time, he has decided to put an opera performance on stage of the theatre, having chosen a comic work by his compatriot Gaetano Donizetti Don Pasquale for this purpose. The Don Pasquale opera buffa, which was composed within 11 days, is one of the composer’s most successful works and remains enduringly popular.

 ‘Those who marry in old age have completely lost their marbles’ — these are the final words of the Don Pasquale opera. This ironic saying is a wise summary of misadventures of the main character, a rich elderly bachelor, who decided to marry and was deceived by his nephew Ernesto and Ernesto’s young fiancée Norina.

Don Pasquale is a typical example of the opera buffa genre. This is a magnificent sample of comedy, which is impressive even when used in such an academic art as opera, and the phenomenal success of this work is a fair tribute to the talent of its creator, the maestro Donizetti. The composer provided a highly precise musical definition for each character. Both the music and general concept of the performance awake the imagination of the director and designer and push them into experimenting. In his staging, the world-known Stage Director Hans-Joachim Frey (Austria) will show the audience sincerity and dramatic intensity of this comedy, which seems to be light-hearted at first sight. As envisioned by the director, the opera’s setting will be moved to Rome of the 1960s. The theatre’s stage will feature re-created romantic Italian surroundings, inspired by the atmosphere of films by the master of Italian cinema Federico Fellini. To ensure immersion into Rome’s sunny atmosphere, the Stage Designer Petr Okunev and Video Designer Vadim Dulenko will use eye-catching original video footage. In addition, projections will help to reflect an intricate inner world of the main characters on the screen. Movable scenery will be combined with video projections, which will make the performance extremely spectacular and dynamic.

The performance will boast a particular charm and some bohemian features thanks to costumes made by the Costume Designer Elena Badmaeva, a fashionable St. Petersburg couturier, who has also been inspired by looks from the films La Dolce Vita and Le notti di Cabiria by Fellini.

The audience will see a feast of life and theatre since the performance staged by the Music Hall Theatre has a funny plot and is full of subtle humour and comic disguise situations. The music by Donizetti lets the stage characters, who look as if they have come from commedia dell'arte, sparkle with incessant vigour. Mean, ridiculous, and charismatic Pasquale looks like a true Pantalone, while his nephew Ernesto resembles a permanently heartbroken and enamoured Pierrot. As for the smart trickster Malatesta, akin to ‘Brighella’, and the charming, but calculating ‘Colombine’ Norina, they team up for a dazzling duet, building up the suspense of this performance.

Running time: 2 hours 30 minutes

The performance has one interval

 

Detail
Directors
Music Director and Conductor
Fabio Mastrangelo
Stage Director
Hans-Joachim Frey
Stage Designer
Petr Okunev
Costume Designer
Elena Badmaeva
Video content
Vadim Dulenko
Lighting Designer
Ivan Nikitin
Musical Preparation
Irina Teplyakova
Performers
Don Pasquale
Nikolai Kamensky – Prize Winner at the international competitions, soloist of the Mariinsky Theatre / Yuri Monchak - soloist of the Mikhailovsky Theatre
Dr Malatesta
Vladimir Tselebrovsky –Honoured Artist of Republic of Karelia , soloist of the «St. Petersburg Opera» Theatre / Tigriy Bazhakin – Prize Winner at the international competitions, soloist of the Music Hall Theatre
Ernesto
Saveliy Andreev – soloist of the Music Hall Theatre
Norina
Anna Vikulina – Prize Winner at the international competitions, soloist of the Music Hall Theatre / Svetlana Monchak - soloist of the Mikhailovsky Theatre, diploma-recipient at the All-Russian competition
Notary
Sergei Kostevich – soloist of the Music Hall Theatre
News
TV CHANNEL «ST. PETERSBURG»: A PREMIERE OF THE OPERA «DON PASQUALE» HAS GATHERED FULL HOUSE AT THE MUSIC HALL THEATRE
28 September
News
«CHANNEL ONE» ABOUT A PREMIERE OF THE OPERA «DON PASQUALE»
28 September
News
«Musical Seasons» portal: OPERA AGAIN!
14 October
News
TV CHANNEL «SOK» ABOUT A PREMIERE OF THE OPERA DON PASQUALE
5 October

ПРЕМЬЕРА! ОПЕРА «ДОН ПАСКУАЛЕ»
  • Большой зал
  • Опера
  • продолжительность

    2:30
  • количество антрактов

    1
  • язык

    Ru
  • возраст

    16+
Даты выхода
Содержание

ДЕЙСТВИЕ I

Сцена 1.

Главный герой, Дон Паскуале, пожилой богатый холостяк, решивший жениться. Дон Паскуале расхаживает по комнате; он задумал лишить наследства своего племянника Эрнесто. Появляется старый друг Дона доктор Малатеста.  Малатеста нашел как раз то, что желает Дон Паскуале— молодую девушку, готовую стать его женой. Это сестра Малатесты -  Софрония. Он описывает ее в арии «Bella siccome un angelo» («Красива, как ангел»). Дон Паскуале обрадован и восхищен. Он требует, чтобы его будущая жена была немедленно доставлена к нему. В своем монологе Дон Паскуале уже представляет себя отцом шестерых детей.

Появляется молодой Эрнесто. Эрнесто отказывается жениться на той, которую Дон Паскуале выбрал для него, поскольку он страстно влюблен и предан Норине. Дон Паскуале раздражен, угрожает отлучить Эрнесто от дома и сообщает племяннику, что сам намеревается жениться. Теперь Эрнесто  будет лишен наследства и не сможет жениться на Норине. Прежде чем уйти, расстроенный Эрнесто дает небольшой совет дяде: не торопитесь жениться, не посоветовавшись с доктором Малатеста. Дон Паскуале, признается, что это он уже и сделал и, что он намеревается жениться на сестре доктора. Эрнесто понимает, что Малатеста, которому он всегда доверял, его предал.

 

Сцена 2.

Комната Норины. Она читает любовный роман и  хвалит сама себя за то, что, как и героиня ее книги, вполне сведуща в хитрости любви. Ей приносят письмо от Эрнесто. Вбегает Малатеста, чтобы сказать ей, что его план сулит успех. Но Норина передает ему письмо Эрнесто. Малатеста вслух читает его и узнает, что сердце юноши разбито. В письме Эрнесто называет Малатесту негодяем, говорит, что будет лишен наследства из-за дядиной женитьбы, сообщает о своем намерении как можно скорее покинуть Рим и  Европу.

Малатеста оправдывается. Он обещает, что Эрнесто будет очень рад остаться, когда услышит о его новом плане. Он состоит в том, чтобы представить Дону Паскуале Норину как его —Малатесты — сестру Софронию, которая на самом деле находится в монастыре (и которую дон Паскуале тоже не видел). Дон Паскуале с радостью согласится жениться на ней, а кузен Малатесты в качестве нотариуса исполнит фиктивный брачный обряд. Затем Норина устроит Дону Паскуале такую несносную жизнь, что он в отчаянии будет рад сбежать из дому.

Малатеста и Норина поют дуэт, в котором доктор наставляет Норину, как ей вести себя в ее новой роли. Она должна научиться в начале быть скромной сельской девушкой, а в один прекрасный момент превратиться в истинную мегеру. В финале сцены доктор и  Норина предаются безудержному веселью, предвкушая реванш над Доном Паскуале.

 

ДЕЙСТВИЕ II

Сцена 1.

Дом Дона Паскуале. Грустный Эрнесто поет драматичную арию «Cerchero lontana terra» («Пойду искать далекие края»). Полагая, что он лишен наследства и потерял свою Норину навсегда, он решает уехать и закончить дни свои в печали и скорби. Эрнесто уходит.

Входит Дон Паскуале. Выпроводив слуг, он  прохаживается, восхищаясь своей «великолепной фигурой»: «Если тебе за семьдесят, никогда не говори, что ты устал... шагай осанисто, бодро... — бормочет он сам себе, — тогда никто не скажет, что тебе столько лет».

Появляется Малатеста, чтобы представить Дону Паскуале Норину как Софронию; ее лицо закрыто вуалью. Вместе они поют терцет: она притворяется, будто испугана и едва не теряет сознание. Малатеста утешает ее и говорит, чтобы она мужалась, а дон Паскуале выражает восторг, но опасается, «столь же ли прелестно личико под вуалью, как и все остальное». Норина мастерски исполняет свою роль застенчивой девушки, только что вышедшей из монастыря. В конце концов, она поддается на уговоры приподнять свою вуаль. Дон Паскуале сражен. Он делает ей предложение; она его принимает; Малатеста приглашает нотариуса. Для контракта необходим свидетель. Поблизости оказывается Эрнесто. Он чуть не срывает весь замысел. Малатеста, однако, успевает отвести его в сторону и сказать о том, что контракт фальшивый. Эрнесто соглашается участвовать в этом фарсе. Документ подписан, и нотариус удаляется.

Неожиданно для Дона Паскуале, но согласно плану Малатесты, Норина превращается в настоящую мегеру. Она отталкивает Дона Паскуале, когда тот намеревается обнять ее, и говорит ему, что он слишком стар. Затем она приказывает удвоить жалованье слугам и отдает распоряжение домоправителю, чтобы он немедленно нанял еще двадцать четыре слуги. Она приказывает, чтобы были приобретены новая карета и новая мебель. Тем временем Дон Паскуале стонет и охает; он бормочет, что все это его погубит. Восхищенные Эрнесто и Малатеста поздравляют друг друга; Дон Паскуале клянет свою судьбу. Квартет превращается в грандиозную кульминацию всего действия.

 

АНТРАКТ

ДЕЙСТВИЕ III

Сцена 1.

Дон Паскуале в отчаянии. Норина, его мнимая новая жена, заказала всевозможные пышные наряды, и ему  надлежит оплатить счета.

Входит Норина и, не глядя на Дона Паскуале,  сообщает, что она собирается в оперу. Дон Паскуале пытается преградить ей путь, но получает резкий отпор. «Старикам нужно рано ложиться спать», — мстительно говорит Норина. Она отталкивает его и, бросив ему последнее оскорбление, с веселым видом уходит, как бы нечаянно обронив письмо. Дон Паскуале поднимает его и читает. Это любовное послание для «дражайшей Софронии», в котором назначается время и место в саду для свидания. Вне себя от негодования, Дон Паскуале пишет записку Малатесте, сообщая ему, что он болен, и  выходит из комнаты.

Являются новые слуги. Они очень возбуждены и счастливы, что их наняли в этот дом, где им так хорошо заплатят. Однако, они  должны соблюдать приличия, чтобы сохранить работу в этом замечательном доме. Слуги расходятся.

Появляется Дон Паскуале, горько жалующийся на свою судьбу. Он желает, чтобы Эрнесто женился на Норине. Его «жена» растранжирит все его состояние. А теперь она собирается на свидание с любовником. В  дуэте Малатеста предлагает Дону Паскуале свой собственный план. «Застанем их врасплох в саду, —говорит он. — «Мы спрячемся в беседке, чтоб жену твою подслушать, и коль она и вправду согрешит, прогоним ее». Дон Паскуале убежден, что этот план слишком мягок. Однако он соглашается выгнать жену, если она виновна, в то время как Малатеста иронически обещает, что он уж постарается, чтобы так и было.

Сцена 2. 

Ночь в саду дома Дона Паскуале. Звучит одна из самых красивых арий в опере «Com’e gentil» («Чудесная ночь»). Это Эрнесто поет серенаду Норине, повествуя о своей страсти. Выходит Норина. Вместе поют лирический дуэт.

Появляются Дон Паскуале и Малатеста. Норина притворяется, что напугана. Дон Паскуале с Малатестой начинают искать ее любовника. Никого не обнаружив, Дон Паскуале требует, чтобы Норина убиралась из его дома,  но она напоминает ему, что это ее дом. Малатеста объявляет, что завтра в доме должна появиться еще одна хозяйка. Это будет жена Эрнесто, «вдова» Норина. Фиктивная жена Дона Паскуале Софрония (она же, Норина) изображает гнев.

Зовут Эрнесто и говорят ему, что его дядя одобряет его женитьбу на Норине. Дон Паскуале хочет увидеть невесту племянника. Малатеста подводит к нему Норину.

Малатеста все объясняет Дону Паскуале. Дон Паскуале на всех сердит, но уступает уговорам Норины и Эрнесто и благословляет их брак.  

Словами Малатесты «Bravo, bravo, Don Pasquale» («Браво, браво, дон Паскуале») начинается последний квартет («La moral di tutto questo» — «Мораль всего такова»), в котором все рассуждают о том, как глупо старику ухаживать за молодой девушкой, ведь ни к чему хорошему это не приводит.

 

 

 

 

Санкт-Петербургский «Театр «Мюзик-Холл»
представляет 

Гаэтано Доницетти 

«ДОН ПАСКУАЛЕ»

опера в 3-х действиях

Инициатором новой постановки стал художественный руководитель театра «Мюзик-Холл», итальянец по рождению Фабио Мастранджело. Впервые на сцене театра  он  решил  поставить оперный спектакль и выбрал для этого комическое произведение своего соотечественника  Гаэтано Доницетти «Дон Паскуале».  Написанная за 11 дней опера-буффа  «Дон Паскуале» – одно из самых удачных сочинений композитора, сохраняющее непреходящую популярность.

«Тот, кто женится в старости, совсем выжил из ума», – такими словами заканчивается опера «Дон Паскуале». Это ироничное изречение мудро подытоживает злоключения главного героя, богатого старого холостяка, решившегося на брак и обманутого своим племянником Эрнесто и его юной невестой Нориной. 

«Дон Паскуале» является эталонным произведением жанра опера-буффа. Это великолепный образец комедии, которой подвластно даже столь академичное искусство, как опера, а феноменальный успех этого произведения – достойная дань таланту его создателя, маэстро Доницетти. Каждому персонажу композитор дает очень точную музыкальную характеристику. Музыка, как и замысел спектакля в целом толкает на эксперименты, пробуждает фантазию режиссёра и художника. Режиссер-постановщик с мировым именем Ханс-Йоахим Фрай (Австрия) в своей постановке открывает зрителям искренность и драматическую глубину этой на первой взгляд легкомысленной комедии. По идее режиссера действие оперы перенесено в Рим 60-х годов XX века. На сцене театра воссоздан романтический мир Италии, вдохновленный атмосферой фильмов мастера итальянского кинематографа Федерико Феллини. Для погружения в солнечную атмосферу Рима художник-постановщик Пётр Окунев и видеохудожник Вадим Дуленко используют оригинальный зрелищный видеоряд. Также проекции помогают воссоздать на экране богатый внутренний мир главных героев. Подвижные декорации сочетаются с видеопроекциями, что делает постановку максимально эффектной и динамичной.

Особый шарм и элемент богемности спектаклю придадуют костюмы модного петербургского дизайнера, художника по костюмам Елены Бадмаевой, которая также вдохновлялась образами из кинофильмов «Сладкая жизнь» и «Ночи Кабирии» Феллини.

В постановке театра «Мюзик-Холл» забавный сюжет, тонкий юмор, комические ситуации с переодеваниями создают зрителям праздник жизни и театра. Благодаря музыке Доницетти на сцене ни на мгновение не угасает кипучая энергия персонажей, которые будто вышли из комедии дель арте. Настоящим Панталоне выглядит скупой, нелепый и обаятельный Паскуале, вечно страдающим влюбленным Пьеро – его племянник Эрнесто, а находчивый плут «Бригелла» – Малатеста и очаровательная, но расчетливая «Коломбина» – Норина составляют блестящий дуэт, движущий интригу этой постановки.

Продолжительность спектакля: 2 часа 30 минут

Спектакль идет с одним антрактом

Подробнее
Постановщики
Музыкальный руководитель и дирижер
Фабио Мастранджело
Режиссер-постановщик
Ханс-Йоахим Фрай
Художник-постановщик
Пётр Окунев
Художник по костюмам
Елена Бадмаева
Видеоконтент
Вадим Дуленко
Художник по свету
Иван Никитин
Ответственный концертмейстер
Ирина Теплякова
Исполнители
Дон Паскуале
Николай Каменский – лауреат международных конкурсов, солист Мариинского театра / Юрий Мончак - солист Михайловского театра
Доктор Малатеста
Владимир Целебровский – заслуженный артист Карелии, солист театра «Санктъ-Петербургъ Опера» / Тигрий Бажакин – лауреат международных конкурсов, солист театра «Мюзик-Холл»
Эрнесто
Савелий Андреев – солист театра «Мюзик-Холл» / Лю Иньлун - лауреат международных конкурсов
Норина
Анна Викулина – лауреат международных конкурсов, солистка театра «Мюзик-Холл» / Светлана Мончак - солистка Михайловского театра, дипломант Всероссийского конкурса
Нотариус
Сергей Костевич – солист театра «Мюзик – Холл»
Новость
Телеканал «Санкт-Петербург»: В «Мюзик-Холле» с аншлагом прошла премьера оперы «Дон Паскуале»
28 Сентября
Новость
«Первый канал» о премьере оперы «Дон Паскуале»
28 Сентября
Новость
Портал «Музыкальные сезоны» о премьере оперы «Дон Паскуале»
14 Октября
Новость
Телеканал «СОК» о премьере оперы «Дон Паскуале»
5 Октября