"Carmen Suite" Dedicated to the 85th anniversary of the composer R. Shchedrin’s birth
  • Сoncert
  • duration

  • intermission

  • languagage

  • age


Dedicated to the 85th anniversary of the composer’s birth 

"Old Russian Circus Music" "Carmen Suite" 

The Saint-Petersburg Northern Synfonia Orchestra of the Music Hall Theatre 
Conductor – Fabio Mastrangelo 

Sandra Shinder (violin) Maria Malyshkina (cello) Ilya Finkelstein (double bass)
The program includes works by Prokofiev, Petrov and Shchedrin 

Maestro Fabio Mastrangelo and The Saint-Petersburg Northern Synfonia Orchestra of the Music Hall Theatre dedicate this concert to the prominent Russian composer Rodion Shchedrin, who is celebrating his 85th anniversary this season. One of the most popular Shchedrin’s works – famous Carmen Suite, which was composed by him for the great ballerina Maya Plisetskaya 50 years ago – will be performed this evening. 
According to Shchedrin, in the next work - Concerto for Orchestra No. 3 "Old Russian Circus Music", - he "tried to touch with musical brush that side of Russian provincial life which is long gone and almost forgotten now". This side is related to circus. "I hope, audience will hear in the musical narrative the circus caravan approaching, fanfares of touts, and solo variations of a rope-walker and jongleur, and then - slightly burlesque quasi-ballet Grand Adagio followed by Coda with circus parade of all characters. And, at last - fanfares again and the circus cavalcade leaving the town". 
The second part of the concert features solo performances of the artists of The Saint-Petersburg Northern Synfonia Orchestra such as the concertmaster of the orchestra Sandra Shinder, the 1st violin Maria Malyshkina and the 1st double bass Ilya Finkelstein. All of them are celebrating their anniversaries this year.